DE
Radio
Radio

Jazz made in Germany is a globally respected flagship and more than ever at the cutting edge of our times: its players live and communicate cultural diversity on stage and in teaching, in cultural management as well as in recording production. Artists in jazz and improvised music are highly mobile, form networks, develop new concepts and formats for performance, recording and distribution.

THE PRIZE

In order to honour this innovative strength in all its facets, Minister of State for Culture Prof. Monika Grütters (Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media 2013-2021) has launched the German Jazz Prize. As the Federal Government’s central funding institution for the music industry, the Initiative Musik has been entrusted with its realisation.

The first edition of Deutscher Jazzpreis did take place on June 3rd 2021 with the aim of establishing itself as an annually recurring, cultural lighthouse event.

»Jazz still too often does not receive the public attention and support it deserves in this country. We want to change that with our jazz promotion: through the Initiative Musik, the Musikfonds and the GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE. Especially after the past two years, which were strongly marked by the pandemic, an event like the GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE is particularly important. Because with it we show the creative power, the artistic quality and the diversity of this genre. And jazz gets the attention it deserves!« 

– Claudia Roth, MdB & Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media

CATEGORIES

The award shines the spotlight on the diversity and creativity of the German jazz scene and honours exceptional, artistic and innovative achievements in a national and international context with prizes in 31 categories. The prize winners receive a trophy and prize money of €10,000.

TROPHY

The trophy stands for inspiration, improvisation and innovation and was developed by the design studios NODE Berlin Oslo and Zieta Prozessdesign in collaboration. The shape of the trophy is created using a technique developed by architect Oskar Zieta: steel bodies can be “inflated” by air pressure and deformed accordingly. Deliberate irregularities in the production process and the manufacturing technique itself refer to the processual and experimental character of Jazz. In addition, the silhouette of the trophy can be recognised as part of the new logo of Deutscher Jazzpreis.

ADVISORY BOARD

The concept of Deutscher Jazzpreis was developed together with an advisory board appointed by the Minister of State for Culture, Prof. Monika Grütters, which is made up of top-class representatives of the jazz scene. The advisory board consists of the following members:

Photo: Frank Siemers
Sabine Bachmann

Co-owner Skip Records

Kai-Uwe Diaz Philipp

Senior Communication Manager Classical & Jazz Sony Music

Photo: S. Wieland
Jörg Heidemann

CEO VUT – The Association of Independent Musicians and Music Companies

Dr. Harald Kisiedu

Musicologist, Lecturer in jazz history and jazz studies at the Institute of Music at Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences

Photo: Felix Groteloh
Alexandra Lehmler

Musician

Photo: Volker Beushausen
Hans Lüdemann

Pianist/Composer – German Composers-Alliance

Photo: Anna Sturm
Beate Sampson

Editor, music journalist & presenter at BR

Photo: Arne Reimer
Annika Sautter

Head of Leipziger Jazztage, member of the advisory board for music, Leipzig Cultural Office

Photo: Jens Oschmann
Johanna Schneider

Singer, composer, co-organiser of the PENG Festival

Photo: Janine Kuehn
Lisa Tuyala

Cultural manager (Kulturkabinett e.V.), Musician, Co-Initiator Women* of Music

Arndt Weidler

Sociologist, Head of Projects German Institute of Jazz Darmstadt

Photo: Mandy Rosenstiel
Steffen Wilde

Management Jazzclub Tonne

Programme description German Jazz Prize
 DOWNLOAD

FAQ

Please read the programme description carefully first. Below you will find answers to frequently asked questions.

In which categories can one apply?
The award categories of the German Jazz Prize are divided into submission categories and curated categories. The eleven submission categories are open to the public, while in the other curated categories the proposals for potential prize-winners are made solely by the jury of experts and the main jury. Prize categories 18-24 and 26-29 are so-called submission categories, for which music makers who meet the formal regulations and selection criteria can apply independently. Applications can be submitted by artists, producers, managers, promoters, employees of labels, publishers and broadcasters as well as authors of journalistic contributions and festival organisers. The submission deadlines and information on the application process will be announced on the website of the German Jazz Prize. Further information on the submission categories and their application requirements can be found in the programme description as well as in the graphic overview of the categories.

Which submission categories relate to the achievements of German artists and performers?
Applications can be submitted in the following categories for achievements by cultural practitioners who are German citizens, have been resident in Germany for at least three years or have a German degree:

18. Instrumental Album of the Year
19. Vocal Album of the Year
20. Debut Album of the Year
21. Broadcast Porduction of the Year
26. Festival of the Year
27. Composition of the Year
28. Arrangement of the Year
29. Journalistic Achievement

In which categories are applications from non-German artists possible?
For performances by artists who do not have German citizenship or have not been resident in Germany for at least three years, applications can be submitted in the following categories:

22. Instrumental Album of the Year international
23. Vocal Album of the Year international
24. Debut Album of the Year international

Can I apply in more than one category?
It is possible to apply in more than one category, provided that the artistic achievement fulfils the respective requirements of each award category, e.g. application for Debut Album of the Year and Vocal Album of the Year. However, it is not possible to apply with the same artistic achievement in a national and in an international category at the same time.

For which years can one apply?
As a rule, the awards of the German Jazz Prize always refer to the previous year. The evaluation period for submissions for the German Jazz Prize 2023 runs from 1 December 2021 to 30 November 2022 inclusive.

Is there an application fee?
No, there is no application fee. Uploading an application is free of charge.

How can I submit files such as PDFs or photos of analogue print reviews with the application?
Only links can be inserted in the application portal of the German Jazz Prize; unfortunately, file uploads are not possible this year for various reasons. We therefore ask all applicants to make files available via cloud solutions such as Dropbox, Google Drive, Microsoft One Drive / Sharepoint or other providers. It is important that the link is permanently available and accessible. Time-limited links such as those provided by WeTransfer are therefore unsuitable. Uploads are possible in the categories composition, arrangement and journalistic performance.

Who ultimately chooses the award winners?
The selection of the award winners takes place in a two-stage process: the jury of experts votes from all the applications and proposals received in an online vote and a subsequent discussion and in this way determines three nominees. These three nominees are then presented to the main jury, which then selects the award winner in a joint vote.

Where can I find an overview of the jury members?
The members of the expert and main jury for the German Jazz Prize 2023 have not yet been constituted, but will be published immediately on the German Jazz Prize website after their official appointment. The juries of previous editions can be found here.

How are the juries composed and who decides?
The expert jury of the German Jazz Prize is made up of a total of 25 personalities from the field of jazz and improvised music. In order to reflect all perspectives of this lively and multi-faceted music scene, the jury is formed as a representative cross-section of five people from each of the following areas: Artists, labels/publishers, clubs/festivals, management/agencies and journalists/media representatives. The main jury is made up of a total of 10 delegated representatives of the 5 specialist juries as well as 7 additional members who are outstanding and recognised personalities from cultural public life with an affinity for jazz. All juries have equal gender representation and are appointed by the Federal Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM) on the basis of a proposal from the advisory board. Further detailed information on the functioning of the jury can be found in the jury statutes.

When will the next German Jazz Prize event take place?
The German Jazz Prize 2023 event will take place as part of Jazzahead on 27 April 2023 in Bremen. We publish all current information about the event on our website.

EN
Radio
Radio
Jazz made in Germany ist ein weltweit beachtetes Aushängeschild und mehr denn je auf der Höhe unserer Zeit: Seine Akteur:innen leben und vermitteln kulturelle Vielfalt auf der Bühne und in der Lehre, im Kulturmanagement ebenso wie in der Tonträgerproduktion. Künstler:innen im Jazz und der improvisierten Musik sind hochgradig mobil, bilden Netzwerke, entwickeln neue Konzepte und Formate für die Aufführung, Aufzeichnung und Verbreitung.

PREIS

Um diese Innovationskraft in all ihren Facetten auszuzeichnen, hat die ehemalige Kulturstaatsministerin Prof. Monika Grütters (die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien 2013-2021), den Deutschen Jazzpreis ausgelobt. Als zentrale Fördereinrichtung der Bundesregierung für die Musikwirtschaft ist die Initiative Musik mit der Realisierung betraut worden.

Die Erstauflage des Deutschen Jazzpreises fand am 3. Juni 2021 statt mit dem Ziel sich als jährlich wiederkehrende, kulturelle Leuchtturm-Veranstaltung zu etablieren.

»Jazz bekommt hierzulande noch viel zu oft nicht die öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit und Unterstützung, die er verdient. Das wollen wir mit unserer Jazzförderung ändern: über die Initiative Musik, den Musikfonds und eben mit dem DEUTSCHEN JAZZPREIS. Gerade nach den vergangenen zwei Jahren, die stark von der Pandemie geprägt waren, ist eine Veranstaltung wie der DEUTSCHE JAZZPREIS besonders wichtig. Denn damit zeigen wir die kreative Schaffenskraft, die künstlerische Qualität und die Vielfalt dieses Genres. Und der Jazz erhält seine verdiente Aufmerksamkeit!« 

– Claudia Roth, MdB & Staatsministerin für Kultur und Medien

KATEGORIEN

Der Deutsche Jazzpreis richtet das Scheinwerferlicht auf die Vielfalt und Schaffenskraft der deutschen Jazzszene und würdigt mit Preisen in 31 Kategorien außergewöhnliche, künstlerische und innovative Leistungen im nationalen und internationalen Kontext. Die Preisträger:innen werden mit einer Trophäe und einem Preisgeld in Höhe von 10.000 € prämiert.

BEIRAT

Gemeinsam mit einem von der ehemaligen Kulturstaatsministerin Prof. Monika Grütters berufenen Beirat, der sich aus hochkarätigen Vertreter:innen der Jazzszene zusammensetzt, wurde das Konzept des Deutschen Jazzpreises entwickelt. Der Beirat konstituiert sich aus folgenden Mitgliedern:

Foto: Frank Siemers
Sabine Bachmann

Mitinhaberin Skip Records

Kai-Uwe Diaz Philipp

Senior Communication Manager Classical & Jazz Sony Music

Foto: S. Wieland
Jörg Heidemann

Geschäftsführer VUT – Verband unabhängiger Musikunternehmer:innen e.V.

Dr. Harald Kisiedu

Musikwissenschaftler, Dozent für Jazzgeschichte und Jazzwissenschaft am Institut für Musik der Hochschule Osnabrück

Foto: Felix Groteloh
Alexandra Lehmler

Musikerin

Foto: Volker Beushausen
Hans Lüdemann

Pianist/Komponist –
Vertreter Deutscher Komponistenverband

Foto: Anna Sturm
Beate Sampson

Redakteurin, Musikjournalistin & Moderatorin beim BR

Foto: Arne Reimer
Annika Sautter

Leitung Leipziger Jazztage, Mitglied Fachbeirat Musik Kulturamt Leipzig

Foto: Jens Oschmann
Johanna Schneider

Sängerin, Komponistin, Co-Organisatorin des PENG Festivals

Foto: Janine Kuehn
Lisa Tuyala

Kulturmanagerin (Kulturkabinett e.V.), Musikerin, Co-Initiatorin Women* of Music

Arndt Weidler

Soziologe, Leitung Projekte beim Jazzinstitut Darmstadt

Foto: Mandy Rosenstiel
Steffen Wilde

Geschäftsführung Jazzclub Tonne

TROPHÄE

Die Trophäe des Deutschen Jazzpreises steht für Inspiration, Improvisation und Innovation und wurde von den Designstudios NODE Berlin Oslo und Zieta Prozessdesign in Zusammenarbeit entwickelt. Die Form der Trophäe entsteht unter Anwendung einer durch den Architekten Oskar Zieta entwickelten Technik: Durch Luftdruck lassen sich Stahlkörper „aufblasen“ und entsprechend verformen. Gewollte Unregelmäßigkeiten in der Herstellung und die Herstellungstechnik selbst, verweisen auf den prozesshaften und experimentellen Charakter des Jazz. Zudem erkennt man die Silhouette der Trophäe als Teil des neuen Logos des Deutschen Jazzpreises.

FAQ

Bitte lesen Sie sich zunächst die Programmbeschreibung sorgfältig durch. Im Folgenden finden Sie Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen.

In welchen Kategorien kann man sich bewerben?
Die Preiskategorien des Deutschen Jazzpreises untergliedern sich in Einreichungskategorien und kuratierte Kategorien. Die elf Einreichungskategorien stehen öffentlich zur Bewerbung, in den übrigen kuratierten Kategorien erfolgen die Vorschläge für potenzielle Preisträger:innen allein durch die Fach- und Hauptjury. Die Preiskategorien 18–24 sowie 26–29 sind sog. Einreichungskategorien, auf die sich Musikschaffende, die den formalen Bestimmungen und Auswahlkriterien entsprechen, eigenständig bewerben können. Bewerbungen können eingereicht werden von Künstler:innen, Produzent:innen, Manager:innen, Promoter:innen, Mitarbeiter:innen von Labels, Verlagen und Rundfunkanstalten sowie von Autor:innen journalistischer Beiträge und Veranstalter:innen von Festivals. Die Einreichfristen und Informationen zum Bewerbungsprozess werden über die Website des Deutschen Jazzpreises bekannt gegeben. Weitere Informationen zu den Einreichungskategorien und deren Bewerbungsvoraussetzungen finden Sie sowohl in der Programmbeschreibung als auch in der grafischen Übersicht der Kategorien.

Welche Einreichungskategorien betreffen die Leistungen deutscher Künstler:innen und Akteur:innen?
Für Leistungen von Kulturschaffenden mit deutscher Staatsbürgerschaft, mit Hauptwohnsitz seit mind. drei Jahren in Deutschland oder mit einem deutschen Studienabschluss können in folgenden Kategorien Bewerbungen eingereicht werden:

18. Album Instrumental des Jahres
19. Album Vokal des Jahres
20. Debüt-Album des Jahres
21. Rundfunkproduktion des Jahres
26. Festival des Jahres
27. Komposition des Jahres
28. Arrangement des Jahres
29. Journalistische Leistung

In welchen Kategorien sind Bewerbungen nicht deutscher Künstler:innen möglich?
Für Leistungen von Kulturschaffenden, die keine deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft oder Hauptwohnsitz seit mind. drei Jahren in Deutschland haben, können in folgenden Kategorien Bewerbungen eingereicht werden:

22. Album Instrumental des Jahres international
23. Album Vokal des Jahres international
20. Debüt-Album des Jahres international

Kann man sich in mehreren Kategorien bewerben?
Eine Bewerbung in mehreren Kategorien ist möglich, sofern die künstlerische Leistung die jeweiligen Voraussetzungen der einzelnen Preiskategorien erfüllt, z.B. Bewerbung für Debüt-Album des Jahres und Album Vokal des Jahres. Es ist jedoch nicht möglich sich mit derselben künstlerischen Leistung gleichzeitig in einer nationalen und in einer internationalen Kategorie zu bewerben.

Für welche Jahre kann man sich bewerben?
Im Regelfall beziehen sich die Auszeichnungen des Deutschen Jazzpreises immer auf das Vorjahr. Der Bewertungszeitraum für Einreichungen für den Deutschen Jazzpreis 2023 reicht vom 1. Dezember 2021 bis einschließlich 30. November 2022.

Gibt es eine Bewerbungsgebühr?
Nein, es gibt keine Gebühr. Das Einreichen von Bewerbungen ist vollständig kostenlos.

Wie kann ich Dateien, wie z.B. PDFs oder Fotos von analogen Print-Rezensionen mit der Bewerbung einreichen?
Im Bewerbungsportal des Deutschen Jazzpreises können ausschließlich Links eingefügt werden, Datei-Uploads sind aus diversen Gründen in diesem Jahr leider nicht möglich. Wir bitten daher alle Bewerber:innen Dateien über Cloud-Lösungen wie z.B. Dropbox, Google Drive, Microsoft One Drive / Sharepoint oder andere Anbieter zur Verfügung zu stellen. Wichtig ist, dass der Link dauerhaft verfügbar und zugänglich ist. Zeitlich limitierte Links wie z.B. bei WeTransfer sind daher ungeeignet. Uploads sind in den Kategorien Komposition, Arrangement und journalistische Leistung möglich.

Wer wählt letztlich die Preisträger:innen?
Die Wahl der Preisträger:innen erfolgt in einem zweistufigen Prozess: Die Fachjury stimmt aus allen eingegangenen Bewerbungen und Vorschlägen in einem Online-Voting ab und einer anschließenden Diskussion ab und ermittelt auf diese Weise drei Nominierte. Diese drei Nominierten werden anschließend der Hauptjury vorgestellt, die daraufhin in gemeinsamer Abstimmung den oder die Preisträger:in kürt.

Wo finde ich eine Übersicht zu den Mitgliedern der Jury?
Die Besetzungen der Fach- und Hauptjury für den Deutschen Jazzpreis 2023 sind noch nicht konstituiert, werden jedoch nach offizieller Berufung umgehend auf der Website des Deutschen Jazzpreises veröffentlicht. Die Jurys voriger Editionen finden Sie hier.

Wie sind die Jurys zusammengesetzt und wer entscheidet darüber?
Die Fachjury des Deutschen Jazzpreises setzt sich aus insgesamt 25 Persönlichkeiten aus dem Bereich Jazz und improvisierte Musik zusammen. Um alle Blickwinkel dieser so lebendigen und facettenreichen Musikszene abzubilden, formiert sich die Jury als repräsentativer Querschnitt aus je fünf Personen der folgenden Bereiche: Künstler:innen, Labels/Verlage, Clubs/Festivals, Management/Agenturen und Journalist:innen/Medienvertreter:innen. Die Hauptjury setzt sich aus insgesamt 10 entsandten Vertreter:innen der 5 Fachjurys sowie aus 7 weiteren Mitgliedern zusammen, die herausragende und anerkannte Persönlichkeiten des kulturellen öffentlichen Lebens mit Jazzaffinität sind. Alle Jurys werden geschlechterparitätisch besetzt und durch die Beauftragte des Bundes für Kultur und Medien (BKM) auf Basis eines Vorschlags des Beirats berufen. Weitere detaillierte Informationen zur Funktionsweise der Jury finden Sie in den Jurystatuten.

Wann findet die nächste Veranstaltung zur Verleihung des Deutschen Jazzpreises statt?
Die Veranstaltung zum Deutschen Jazzpreis 2023 findet im Rahmen der Jazzahead am 27. April 2023 in Bremen statt. Alle aktuellen Informationen zur Veranstaltung veröffentlichen wir auf unserer Website.

Programmbeschreibung Deutscher Jazzpreis
 DOWNLOAD