DE
Radio
Radio

Please read the programme description carefully first. Below you will find answers to frequently asked questions.

In which categories can one apply?
The award categories of the German Jazz Prize are divided into submission categories and curated categories. The eleven submission categories are open to the public, while in the other curated categories the proposals for potential prize-winners are made solely by the jury of experts and the main jury. Prize categories 18-24 and 26-29 are so-called submission categories, for which music makers who meet the formal regulations and selection criteria can apply independently. Applications can be submitted by artists, producers, managers, promoters, employees of labels, publishers and broadcasters as well as authors of journalistic contributions and festival organisers. The submission deadlines and information on the application process will be announced on the website of the German Jazz Prize. Further information on the submission categories and their application requirements can be found in the programme description as well as in the graphic overview of the categories.

Which submission categories relate to the achievements of German artists and performers?
Applications can be submitted in the following categories for achievements by cultural practitioners who are German citizens, have been resident in Germany for at least three years or have a German degree:

18. Instrumental Album of the Year
19. Vocal Album of the Year
20. Debut Album of the Year
21. Broadcast Porduction of the Year
26. Festival of the Year
27. Composition of the Year
28. Arrangement of the Year
29. Journalistic Achievement

In which categories are applications from non-German artists possible?
For performances by artists who do not have German citizenship or have not been resident in Germany for at least three years, applications can be submitted in the following categories:

22. Instrumental Album of the Year international
23. Vocal Album of the Year international
24. Debut Album of the Year international

Can I apply in more than one category?
It is possible to apply in more than one category, provided that the artistic achievement fulfils the respective requirements of each award category, e.g. application for Debut Album of the Year and Vocal Album of the Year. However, it is not possible to apply with the same artistic achievement in a national and in an international category at the same time.

For which years can one apply?
As a rule, the awards of the German Jazz Prize always refer to the previous year. The evaluation period for submissions for the German Jazz Prize 2023 runs from 1 December 2021 to 30 November 2022 inclusive.

Is there an application fee?
No, there is no application fee. Uploading an application is free of charge.

How can I submit files such as PDFs or photos of analogue print reviews with the application?
Only links can be inserted in the application portal of the German Jazz Prize; unfortunately, file uploads are not possible this year for various reasons. We therefore ask all applicants to make files available via cloud solutions such as Dropbox, Google Drive, Microsoft One Drive / Sharepoint or other providers. It is important that the link is permanently available and accessible. Time-limited links such as those provided by WeTransfer are therefore unsuitable. Uploads are possible in the categories composition, arrangement and journalistic performance.

Who ultimately chooses the award winners?
The selection of the award winners takes place in a two-stage process: the jury of experts votes from all the applications and proposals received in an online vote and a subsequent discussion and in this way determines three nominees. These three nominees are then presented to the main jury, which then selects the award winner in a joint vote.

Where can I find an overview of the jury members?
The members of the expert and main jury for the German Jazz Prize 2023 have not yet been constituted, but will be published immediately on the German Jazz Prize website after their official appointment. The juries of previous editions can be found here.

How are the juries composed and who decides?
The expert jury of the German Jazz Prize is made up of a total of 25 personalities from the field of jazz and improvised music. In order to reflect all perspectives of this lively and multi-faceted music scene, the jury is formed as a representative cross-section of five people from each of the following areas: Artists, labels/publishers, clubs/festivals, management/agencies and journalists/media representatives. The main jury is made up of a total of 10 delegated representatives of the 5 specialist juries as well as 7 additional members who are outstanding and recognised personalities from cultural public life with an affinity for jazz. All juries have equal gender representation and are appointed by the Federal Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM) on the basis of a proposal from the advisory board. Further detailed information on the functioning of the jury can be found in the jury statutes.

When will the next German Jazz Prize event take place?
The German Jazz Prize 2023 event will take place as part of Jazzahead on 27 April 2023 in Bremen. We publish all current information about the event on our website.

EN
Radio
Radio

FAQ

Bitte lesen Sie sich zunächst die Programmbeschreibung sorgfältig durch. Im Folgenden finden Sie Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen.

In welchen Kategorien kann man sich bewerben?
Die Preiskategorien des Deutschen Jazzpreises untergliedern sich in Einreichungskategorien und kuratierte Kategorien. Die elf Einreichungskategorien stehen öffentlich zur Bewerbung, in den übrigen kuratierten Kategorien erfolgen die Vorschläge für potenzielle Preisträger:innen allein durch die Fach- und Hauptjury. Die Preiskategorien 18–24 sowie 26–29 sind sog. Einreichungskategorien, auf die sich Musikschaffende, die den formalen Bestimmungen und Auswahlkriterien entsprechen, eigenständig bewerben können. Bewerbungen können eingereicht werden von Künstler:innen, Produzent:innen, Manager:innen, Promoter:innen, Mitarbeiter:innen von Labels, Verlagen und Rundfunkanstalten sowie von Autor:innen journalistischer Beiträge und Veranstalter:innen von Festivals. Die Einreichfristen und Informationen zum Bewerbungsprozess werden über die Website des Deutschen Jazzpreises bekannt gegeben. Weitere Informationen zu den Einreichungskategorien und deren Bewerbungsvoraussetzungen finden Sie sowohl in der Programmbeschreibung als auch in der grafischen Übersicht der Kategorien.

Welche Einreichungskategorien betreffen die Leistungen deutscher Künstler:innen und Akteur:innen?
Für Leistungen von Kulturschaffenden mit deutscher Staatsbürgerschaft, mit Hauptwohnsitz seit mind. drei Jahren in Deutschland oder mit einem deutschen Studienabschluss können in folgenden Kategorien Bewerbungen eingereicht werden:

18. Album Instrumental des Jahres
19. Album Vokal des Jahres
20. Debüt-Album des Jahres
21. Rundfunkproduktion des Jahres
26. Festival des Jahres
27. Komposition des Jahres
28. Arrangement des Jahres
29. Journalistische Leistung

In welchen Kategorien sind Bewerbungen nicht deutscher Künstler:innen möglich?
Für Leistungen von Kulturschaffenden, die keine deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft oder Hauptwohnsitz seit mind. drei Jahren in Deutschland haben, können in folgenden Kategorien Bewerbungen eingereicht werden:

22. Album Instrumental des Jahres international
23. Album Vokal des Jahres international
24. Debüt-Album des Jahres international

Kann man sich in mehreren Kategorien bewerben?
Eine Bewerbung in mehreren Kategorien ist möglich, sofern die künstlerische Leistung die jeweiligen Voraussetzungen der einzelnen Preiskategorien erfüllt, z.B. Bewerbung für Debüt-Album des Jahres und Album Vokal des Jahres. Es ist jedoch nicht möglich sich mit derselben künstlerischen Leistung gleichzeitig in einer nationalen und in einer internationalen Kategorie zu bewerben.

Für welche Jahre kann man sich bewerben?
Im Regelfall beziehen sich die Auszeichnungen des Deutschen Jazzpreises immer auf das Vorjahr. Der Bewertungszeitraum für Einreichungen für den Deutschen Jazzpreis 2023 reicht vom 1. Dezember 2021 bis einschließlich 30. November 2022.

Gibt es eine Bewerbungsgebühr?
Nein, es gibt keine Gebühr. Das Einreichen von Bewerbungen ist vollständig kostenlos.

Wie kann ich Dateien, wie z.B. PDFs oder Fotos von analogen Print-Rezensionen mit der Bewerbung einreichen?
Im Bewerbungsportal des Deutschen Jazzpreises können ausschließlich Links eingefügt werden, Datei-Uploads sind aus diversen Gründen in diesem Jahr leider nicht möglich. Wir bitten daher alle Bewerber:innen Dateien über Cloud-Lösungen wie z.B. Dropbox, Google Drive, Microsoft One Drive / Sharepoint oder andere Anbieter zur Verfügung zu stellen. Wichtig ist, dass der Link dauerhaft verfügbar und zugänglich ist. Zeitlich limitierte Links wie z.B. bei WeTransfer sind daher ungeeignet. Uploads sind in den Kategorien Komposition, Arrangement und journalistische Leistung möglich.

Wer wählt letztlich die Preisträger:innen?
Die Wahl der Preisträger:innen erfolgt in einem zweistufigen Prozess: Die Fachjury stimmt aus allen eingegangenen Bewerbungen und Vorschlägen in einem Online-Voting ab und einer anschließenden Diskussion ab und ermittelt auf diese Weise drei Nominierte. Diese drei Nominierten werden anschließend der Hauptjury vorgestellt, die daraufhin in gemeinsamer Abstimmung den oder die Preisträger:in kürt.

Wo finde ich eine Übersicht zu den Mitgliedern der Jury?
Die Besetzungen der Fach- und Hauptjury für den Deutschen Jazzpreis 2023 sind noch nicht konstituiert, werden jedoch nach offizieller Berufung umgehend auf der Website des Deutschen Jazzpreises veröffentlicht. Die Jurys voriger Editionen finden Sie hier.

Wie sind die Jurys zusammengesetzt und wer entscheidet darüber?
Die Fachjury des Deutschen Jazzpreises setzt sich aus insgesamt 25 Persönlichkeiten aus dem Bereich Jazz und improvisierte Musik zusammen. Um alle Blickwinkel dieser so lebendigen und facettenreichen Musikszene abzubilden, formiert sich die Jury als repräsentativer Querschnitt aus je fünf Personen der folgenden Bereiche: Künstler:innen, Labels/Verlage, Clubs/Festivals, Management/Agenturen und Journalist:innen/Medienvertreter:innen. Die Hauptjury setzt sich aus insgesamt 10 entsandten Vertreter:innen der 5 Fachjurys sowie aus 7 weiteren Mitgliedern zusammen, die herausragende und anerkannte Persönlichkeiten des kulturellen öffentlichen Lebens mit Jazzaffinität sind. Alle Jurys werden geschlechterparitätisch besetzt und durch die Beauftragte des Bundes für Kultur und Medien (BKM) auf Basis eines Vorschlags des Beirats berufen. Weitere detaillierte Informationen zur Funktionsweise der Jury finden Sie in den Jurystatuten.

Wann findet die nächste Veranstaltung zur Verleihung des Deutschen Jazzpreises statt?
Die Veranstaltung zum Deutschen Jazzpreis 2023 findet im Rahmen der Jazzahead am 27. April 2023 in Bremen statt. Alle aktuellen Informationen zur Veranstaltung veröffentlichen wir auf unserer Website.