

Press Release

GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE 2024 Here Are the Jury Members

- The fourth edition of the German Jazz Prize introduces members of both the expert and main juries
- Main jury to decide on this year's award winners
- Ceremony to take place on April 18, 2024, at Cologne's E-Werk

Berlin, February 20, 2024

Now in its fourth edition, this year's nominees and award winners for the German Jazz Prize remain in the hands of two highly esteemed juries. The winners of the 22 prestigious awards will be announced on April 18 at a ceremony held at E-Werk in Cologne.

Back in January, the expert jury, consisting of 25 prominent figures from the field of jazz and improvised music, selected the nominees for this year's German Jazz Prize from some 1,150 submissions. In order to reflect all perspectives of this lively and multifaceted music scene, the expert jury is formed as a representative cross-section of five people from each of the following areas: Artists, Labels/Publishers, Clubs/Festivals, Management/Agencies and Journalists/Media representatives.

Singer, songwriter, and professor for jazz vocals Fola Dada is participating as a member of the expert jury for the second time. She had this to say about her experience:

"For me, being on the jury is a wonderful opportunity to break out of my own musical bubble. Although surrounded by music every day, it is not always a given to be able to dedicate oneself to something new, and that's exactly what happens to me as a juror. It allows me to experience our scene intensely, and I get the feeling that we are in motion. There is a lot of development, which I find exciting and encouraging. The German Jazz Prize shines a spotlight on both young







and established artists, thereby presenting the current and creative tension within jazz. Jazz is a highly vibrant art form, and this becomes obvious."

The main jury of the German Jazz Prize now holds the responsibility for selecting the 22 awardees, who will each be presented with a trophy and prize money of € 12,000 on April 18. The 17-member main jury this year again is composed of members of the expert jury, renowned jazz personalities and figures from public cultural life.

As the chairperson for the main jury, music critic and author Nate Chinen had this to say:

"The worlds of jazz and improvised music contain a dazzling range of expression in 2024 – a reality made manifest in the nominees for this year's German Jazz Prize. Recognizing the finest artistic achievements in Germany and well beyond, these awards have quickly become a trusted marker of prestige around the world. I was honored to serve for a second year on the jury, this time as its chair. The care with which my fellow jury members approached our task was both humbling and inspiring, and the level of musicianship impressed us across every category. At a time when so much in our culture and politics can be divisive, music shows us a way forward – especially when it's created and shared with so much integrity and depth of feeling."

The expert jury consists of:

- Eric Schaefer: Percussionist and University Professor
- Fola Dada: Singer, Songwriter, Professor for Vocals
- Kevin le Gendre: Journalist and Broadcaster
- Lena Müller: Booking Agent & Artist Manager Jazzhaus Artists / Jazzhaus Freiburg GmbH
- Mariá Portugal: Drummer, Singer, Composer and Musical Producer
- Michaela Bóková: Label Manager, Producer, Vocalist
- Nabil Atassi: "Late Night Jazz" Presenter and Author; Winner of the German Radio Prize, WDR Jazz Prize for Journalistic Achievements
- Niklas Alt: Owner Donau115
- Scottie McNiece: Co-Founder and A&R Director of International Anthem, Chicago USA
- Sophie Emilie Beha: Freelance Journalist and Curator
- Thomas Siffling: Jazz Trumpet Player and CEO of Ella & Louis Jazz Club Mannheim
- Tinka Steinhoff: Booking Agent Tinka Steinhoff Booking
- Tobias Schuster: Founder Shoestring Jazz Booking
- Tony Lakatos: Musician, Saxophonist
- Uwe Hager: Musicologist and Music Educator, Jazz Pianist and Founder of o-tone music







Additional expert jury members, who also serve as representatives of the expert jury on the **main jury** include:

- Jana Herzen: Founder, President and Recording Artist for Motéma Music
- Jolanda Vujasinovic: Artist & Concert Management The ACT Agency
- Judyth Babin: Artist Manager / Tour Agent / Label
- Katea Stitt: Radio Program Director / Producer and Tour and Artist Manager
- Leo Wölfel: Founder Magnet Festival, Production Team Jazzfest Berlin
- Marieke Meischke: Programmer Jazz Maastricht/JazzOut Fest Advisor Dutch Performing Arts Fund
- Rio Sakairi: Artistic Director / The Jazz Gallery
- Silvan Strauss: Drummer/Producer
- Victoriah Szirmai: Music Critic
- Werner Aldinger: Label Manager (enja & yellowbird records)

Additional members of the main jury include:

- Aaron Parks: Jazz Pianist and Composer
- Akua Naru: Recording Artist, Producer, Archivist
- Claus Reichstaller: Jazz Trumpeter and Professor at the University of Music and Theatre Munich
- Nate Chinen: Music Critic and Author
- Nicole Mitchell: Flutist, Conceptualist, Composer, Professor of Music at University of Virginia
- Nora Gomringer: Poet, Performer, Director
- Trilok Gurtu: Percussionist and Singer

More information about the <u>German Jazz Prize</u> as well as the <u>expert and main jury</u> can be found on the website.

German Jazz Prize

Since 2021, the German Jazz Prize has been honoring outstanding artistic achievements in the national and international jazz scenes. The prize is developed and produced by Initiative Musik with project funds from Germany's Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media. The fourth edition will take place on April 18 at E-Werk in Cologne, in cooperation with the city of Cologne and the state of North Rhine-Westphalia.

All press releases, press photos and further information can be found on the <u>press page of the German Jazz Prize</u>.

Please use #Jazzpreis24 and #DeutscherJazzpreis on your social networks.

Instagram — instagram.com|deutscherjazzpreis Facebook — facebook.com|deutscherjazzpreis YouTube — youtube.com/@deutscherjazzpreis







Contact German Jazz Prize:

Melanie Hahn – Communication Awards Initiative Musik melanie.hahn@initiative-musik.de

Hannes Möller – Project Lead German Jazz Prize hannes.moeller@initiative-musik.de

Deutscher Jazzpreis | c/o Initiative Musik gGmbH | Friedrichstraße 122 | D-10117 Berlin

Note: The German Jazz Prize of the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media has no affiliation with the New German Jazz Award of IG Jazz Rhein-Neckar e.V.



