Radio
Radio
1 / 1
7. April 2022

German Jazz Prize – Program

“The anticipation for the German Jazz Prize is rising day by day. This is not only the case for the nominees, but also for us as the organizing team. I am already looking forward to the moment when the show, hosted by Hadnet Tesfai and Götz Bühler, begins in Bremen’s Metropol Theater. We will be awarding prizes live in seven of a total of 31 categories. But the winners in the other categories will also be announced live that evening, so it will remain exciting for everyone until the very end,” explains Tina Sikorski, Managing Director of the Initiative Musik. This is the second time that the central funding body for rock, pop and jazz in Germany has awarded the music prize presented by the Minister of State for Culture, Claudia Roth.

Tokunbo Akinro, singer, composer and member of the main jury, is also looking forward to the awarding of the German Jazz Prize 2022. For her, the prize is of particular importance because “it honors the further development of jazz on a national and international level, the interweaving of different genres and the work of exceptional artists.” This year, the jury members discussed numerous innovative and outstanding projects “with much thought, care and collegial appreciation” and nominated them for the prize. Some of the nominees will be on stage during the award ceremony and the concert evening that will follow.

For the entire evening, the audience can look forward to a special double presenter. Hadnet Tesfai, a journalist and presenter with great expertise and passion for music, who is known from a wide range of formats from Radio Fritz, MTV, 3sat, ZDFkultur to the Berlinale, has been recruited. In addition, there is the Hamburg journalist and presenter Götz Bühler, who, in addition to his work as German editor-in-chief of the app Jazzed and many years of collaboration with the Elbjazz Festival, is currently co-responsible for the program of Jazz & The City in Salzburg and writes for the German magazine Jazz thing.   

The awards ceremony on the eve of jazzahead! will be rounded off with live performances by American harpist Brandee Younger, whose multifaceted playing combines influences ranging from jazz to funk, R’n’B and hip-hop to classical music, and German-born saxophonist Gebhard Ullmann – as part of the trio “Das Kondensat”. Ullmann is regarded nationally and internationally as an outstanding artist on the jazz scene and has received numerous awards for his work in a wide variety of formations. 

For the audience, this means a great, entertaining evening dedicated entirely to jazz. Further live performances will follow at the German Jazzprize concert evening, where the national and international nominees will bring the musical diversity and creative power of jazz to life on stage. The Stuttgart singer Fola Dada moves musically in a spectrum between big band jazz, neo soul and electronic pop music, while the jazz musician and composer Nubya Garcia from London takes the audience on a rousing sound journey with her saxophone. Other highlights of the concert evening include performances by New York-based pianist and composer Sylvie Courvoisier and the Jazzrausch Bigband from Munich, which formed in 2014 and has been artist in residence at the renowned techno club “Harry Klein” since the following year. Like no other, the ensemble manages to fuse big band sound with techno music and inspire the audience.

The award ceremony can be experienced live on site or via livestream on the German Jazzprize website. Radio Bremen will stream the award ceremony live on bremenzwei.de, radiobremen.de and the Bremen Zwei Facebook page. Other public culture channels such as SWR2, SR2, rbbKultur and BR-Klassik will take over the livestream via their websites or Facebook pages.

The complete concert evening of the German Jazz Prize will be recorded by Radio Bremen. The 3sat broadcast will take place on May 21, 2022 from about 22:15. Already on May 14, 2022, the broadcast will take place on the radio program Bremen Zwei from 22:00. The concert evening will also be available on the 3sat Mediathek.

German Jazz Prize 2022

April 27, 2022
Metropol Theater Bremen, Richtweg 7, 28195 Bremen, Germany.
Moderation: Hadnet Tesfai & Götz Bühler

Admission, 5:00 p.m.

Award ceremony, 6:00 p.m. 

Live music 

Brandee Younger Trio – New York, USA
Gebhard Ullmann with “Das Kondensat” – Berlin, Germany 

Improvised accompaniment

Lucía Martínez (drums) – Berlin, Germany
Ronny Graupe (guitar) – Berlin, Germany
Daniel Erdmann (saxophone) – Reims, France

Sound design: Florian Ross, prize winner composition German Jazzprize 2021

Concert evening, 08:30 p.m.

Fola Dada Quintett – Stuttgart, Germany
Nubya Garcia & Band – London, Great Britain
Sylvie Courvoisier – New York, USA

Radio
Radio
1 / 1
7. April 2022

Deutscher Jazzpreis 2022 – Programm

»Die Vorfreude auf den Deutschen Jazzpreis steigt von Tag zu Tag. Dies geht nicht nur den Nominierten so, sondern auch uns als Organisationsteam. Ich freue mich schon auf den Moment, wenn die von Hadnet Tesfai und Götz Bühler moderierte Show im Bremer Metropol Theater beginnt. Sieben von insgesamt 31 Kategorien werden wir live prämieren. Aber auch die Preisträger:innen in den anderen Kategorien werden an diesem Abend live verkündet werden, so dass es bis zuletzt für alle spannend bleibt«, erklärt Tina Sikorski, Geschäftsführerin der Initiative Musik. Die zentrale Fördereinrichtung für Rock, Pop und Jazz in Deutschland vergibt den Musikpreis von Kulturstaatsministerin Claudia Roth bereits zum zweiten Mal.

Auch Tokunbo Akinro, Sängerin, Komponistin und Mitglied der Hauptjury, blickt mit Freude auf die Verleihung des Deutschen Jazzpreises 2022. Für sie ist der Preis von besonderer Wichtigkeit, weil »er die Weiterentwicklung des Jazz auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene, die Verflechtungen verschiedener Genres und das Schaffen von Ausnahmekünstler:innen honoriert.« Zahlreiche innovative und herausragende Projekte haben die Jurymitglieder in diesem Jahr »mit viel Bedacht, Sorgfalt und kollegialer Wertschätzung diskutiert« und für den Preis nominiert. Einige der Nominierten werden im Verlauf der Preisverleihung und des daran anknüpfenden Konzertabends auf der Bühne zu erleben sein.

Für den gesamten Abend kann sich das Publikum auf eine besondere Doppelmoderation freuen. Mit Hadnet Tesfai konnte eine Journalistin und Moderatorin mit großer Kompetenz und Leidenschaft für Musik gewonnen werden, die aus ganz unterschiedlichen Formaten von Radio Fritz, MTV, 3sat, ZDFkultur bis hin zur Berlinale bekannt ist. Dazu kommt der Hamburger Journalist und Moderator Götz Bühler, der neben seiner Tätigkeit als deutscher Chefredakteur der App Jazzed und langjähriger Mitarbeit beim Elbjazz Festival, aktuell das Programm von Jazz & The City in Salzburg mitverantwortet und für das deutsche Magazin Jazz thing schreibt.   

Abgerundet wird die Preisverleihung am Vorabend der jazzahead! mit Live-Auftritten der amerikanischen Harfenistin Brandee Younger, die in ihrem facettenreichen Spiel Einflüsse von Jazz über Funk, R’n’B und Hip-Hop bis zu Klassik verbindet, sowie der aus Deutschland stammende Saxophonist 

Gebhard Ullmann – als Teil des Trios „Das Kondensat“. Ullmann gilt national wie international als herausragender Künstler der Jazzszene und wurde für sein Mitwirken in verschiedensten Formationen vielfach ausgezeichnet. 

Für das Publikum bietet sich damit ein großartiger, unterhaltsamer Abend, der ganz dem Jazz gewidmet ist. Weitere Live-Auftritte gibt es im Anschluss beim Konzertabend des Deutschen Jazzpreises, bei dem die nationalen und internationalen Nominierten die musikalische Vielfalt und kreative Schaffenskraft des Jazz auf der Bühne erlebbar machen. Die Stuttgarter Sängerin Fola Dada bewegt sich musikalisch in einem Spektrum zwischen Big Band Jazz, Neo Soul und elektronischer Popmusik, während die Jazzmusikerin und Komponistin Nubya Garcia aus London das Publikum mit ihrem Saxophon auf eine mitreißende Klangreise nimmt. Weitere Highlights des Konzertabends sind die Aufritte der in New York lebenden Pianistin und Komponistin Sylvie Courvoisier und der Jazzrausch Bigband aus München, die sich 2014 formierte und seit dem Folgejahr Artist in Residence im renommierten Technoclub „Harry Klein“ ist. Wie kein anderes schafft es das Ensemble Bigband-Sound mit Techno-Musik zu verschmelzen und das Publikum zu begeistern.

Die Preisverleihung kann live vor Ort oder im Livestream auf der Webseite des Deutschen Jazzpreises erlebt werden. Von Radio Bremen wird die Verleihung auf bremenzwei.de, radiobremen.de und der Bremen Zwei Facebook-Seite live gestreamt. Weitere öffentlich-rechtliche Kulturwellen wie SWR2, SR2, rbbKultur und BR-Klassik übernehmen den Livestream über ihre Webseiten oder Facebook-Seiten.

Der komplette Konzertabend des Deutschen Jazzpreises wird von Radio Bremen aufgezeichnet. Die 3sat Ausstrahlung erfolgt am 21. Mai 2022 ab ca. 22:15 Uhr. Bereits am 14. Mai 2022 erfolgt ab 22:00 Uhr die Ausstrahlung im Hörfunkprogramm Bremen Zwei. Der Konzertabend wird außerdem in der 3sat Mediathek verfügbar sein.

Deutscher Jazzpreis 2022

27. April 2022
Metropol Theater Bremen, Richtweg 7, 28195 Bremen
Moderation: Hadnet Tesfai & Götz Bühler

Einlass, 17:00 Uhr

Preisverleihung, 18:00 Uhr 

Livemusik 

Brandee Younger Trio – New York, USA
Gebhard Ullmann mit Das Kondensat – Berlin, Deutschland 

Improvisierte Begleitung

Lucía Martínez (Schlagzeug) – Berlin, Deutschland
Ronny Graupe (Gitarre) – Berlin, Deutschland
Daniel Erdmann (Saxophon) – Reims, Frankreich
Sounddesign: Florian Ross, Preisträger Komposition DEUTSCHER JAZZPREIS 2021

Konzertabend, 20:30 Uhr

Fola Dada Quintett – Stuttgart, Deutschland
Nubya Garcia & Band – London, Großbritannien
Sylvie Courvoisier – New York, USA
Jazzrausch Bigband – München, Deutschland

Sendetermin: 3sat, 21. Mai 2022, ab 22:15 Uhr

Weitere Informationen zum Deutschen Jazzpreis und zum Ticketverkauf für die Preisverleihung mit Konzertabend vor Ort im Metropol Theater Bremen finden Sie hier.