Der Deutsche Jazzpreis
1 / 1
24. February 2022

Newly formed expert jury for the German Jazz Prize

The expert jury of the German Jazz Prize is composed of a total of 25 personalities from the field of jazz and improvised music. In order to reflect the multifaceted nature of this music scene, the jury is made up of a representative cross-section of five people from each of the following areas: Artists, labels/publishers, clubs/festivals, management/agencies and journalists/media representatives.

In 2022, the German Jazz Prize is pleased to announce ten new members of the expert jury board: Aida Baghernejad, Anja Buchmann, Fielding Hope, Frank Bolder, Jean-Paul Bourelly, Johanna Schneider, Nanna Rohlffs, Rabih Lahoud, Sofia Jernberg and Stefanie Marcus.

You can find a list of all 25 expert jury members by clicking here.

Independently and in a dynamic dialogue, the diverse jury of experts determined three nominees for each award category from nearly 1,000 submissions in January 2022. In the next step, the main jury, consisting of members of the expert jury, prominent jazz players and personalities from cultural public life, will determine the 31 award winners. The members of the main jury and the nominees for the individual categories will be announced shortly.

“The German Jazz Prize offers a great opportunity to powerfully support the diversity and creative resilience of the jazz landscape in Germany. I am very happy to be part of the expert jury this time and to experience the inner determination of the other jurors so close. I came to Germany for the first time 19 years ago, and today I get to explore and discuss the musical landscape with many wonderful colleagues. This is exactly the inner power of jazz: a community of people as diverse as they can be and united at heart by an invisible unity for diversity, creativity and the future.”
Rabih Lahoud, member of the expert jury, jazz singer of the band Masaa, winner of the German Jazz Prize 2021 and WDR Jazz Prize 2021.