Radio
Radio
1 / 1
14. March 2022

The nominations for the German Jazz Prize have been determined – Start of ticket sales

The nominees for the German Jazz Prize have been determined! This year, the largest award for the national and international jazz scene in Germany received about 1,000 submissions, including artists, labels and publishers. These were evaluated and discussed by the five appointed expert juries in sessions lasting several days.

Now the 81 nominees have been determined. A total of 31 winners will be chosen in the five main categories. The winners selected by the main jury will receive a trophy and prize money totaling more than €300,000. The nominees’ exceptional artistic and innovative achievements in a national and international context are the decisive factors for being honored with the German Jazz Prize 2022.

Click here to see all nominees.

A diverse main jury selects prize winners

The winners of the German Jazz Prize are selected by an independently acting main jury. The jury is made up of personalities with diverse professional backgrounds and expertise; members of the professional jury, prominent players in the jazz scene and personalities from cultural and public life. In addition, the multi-faceted composition of the main jury is intended to reflect the diverse image of the national and international jazz scene within Germany and to provide as representative a cross-section of the jazz scene as possible. The members of the main jury are appointed for two years at a time, with a rotation principle ensuring that new and old members always form the core of the main jury.

This year, the German Jazz Prize is pleased to have a 16-member jury made up of experienced and committed experts from the jazz scene, who perform their work as part of the main jury with great dedication.

“It is an honor to be a member of the jury for the German Jazz Prize, there are so many deserving artists and it gives me great satisfaction to be able to help support the German and international jazz scene”

Kurt Rosenwinkel, multi-instrumentalist, composer, producer, and member of the main jury.

Together, the main jury members review the submissions of the 81 nominees in intensive sessions on various criteria, such as their artistic quality and innovation. Beate Sampson, presenter at Bayerischer Rundfunk and chair of the main jury commented:

“The creative power of the international jazz scene is unbroken, although the pandemic years are having a dramatic effect on the working conditions of musicians and composers, and now the war of aggression in Ukraine, which is contrary to international law, is casting dark shadows. The jury of the German Jazz Award is deeply impressed by the high quality, artistic expressiveness and emotional depth of the submitted works and productions, and has entered the discussion with great respect for them – knowing full well that much more than we can award is worthy of a prize.”

But social factors are also relevant criteria for the German Jazz Prize, in addition to outstanding musical achievements by the prize-winners, as jury member and music journalist Aida Baghernejad notes:

“Jazz is applied politics, from its beginnings to its contemporary varieties around the world. And as a pop culture journalist, it’s important to me to highlight this side of jazz and promote artist:s who are building bridges out of the jazz scene into society and into hip-hop, pop and electronic music.”

Advance ticket sales for the awards ceremony and concert evening start on March 15. All further information on ticket sales, the categories and the application can be found at deutscher-jazzpreis.de.

Get your tickets now!

Radio
Radio
1 / 1
14. März 2022

Die Nominierungen des Deutschen Jazzpreises 2022 stehen fest – Beginn des Ticketverkaufs

Die Nominierten für den Deutschen Jazzpreis 2022 stehen fest! In diesem Jahr verzeichnete die größte Auszeichnung für die nationale und internationale Jazzszene in Deutschland rund 1.000 Einreichungen, unter anderem von Künstler:innen, aber auch Labels und Verlagen. Diese wurden von den fünf eingesetzten Fachjurys in mehrtägigen Sitzungen bewertet und diskutiert.

Nun stehen die 81 Nominierten fest. In den fünf Hauptkategogrien werden insgesamt 31 Preisträger:innen gekürt. Ausgezeichnet werden die von der Hauptjury gekürten Gewinner:innen mit einer Trophäe und mit Preisgeldern in einer Gesamthöhe von über 300.000 €. Ausschlaggebend für die Würdigung mit dem Deutschen Jazzpreis 2022 sind die außergewöhnlichen künstlerischen und innovativen Leistungen der Nominierten im nationalen und internationalen Kontext.

–> zu den Nominierten

Eine vielfältige Hauptjury wählt Preisträger:innen

Ausgewählt werden die Preisträger:innen des Deutschen Jazzpreises von einer unabhängig agierenden Hauptjury. Diese setzt sich aus Persönlichkeiten mit vielfältigen fachlichen Hintergründen und Expertisen zusammen; aus Mitgliedern der Fachjury, prominenten Akteur:innen der Jazzszene und Persönlichkeiten des kulturellen und öffentlichen Lebens. Darüber hinaus soll die facettenreiche Zusammensetzung der Hauptjury das vielfältige Bild der nationalen und internationalen Jazzszene innerhalb Deutschlands spiegeln und einen möglichst repräsentativen Querschnitt der Jazzszene abbilden. Berufen werden die Mitglieder der Hauptjury jeweils für zwei Jahre, wobei ein Rotationsprinzip dafür sorgt, dass immer neue und alte Mitglieder den Kern der Hauptjury bilden.

In diesem Jahr freut sich der Deutschen Jazzpreis über eine 16 Mitglieder umfassende Jury aus versierten und engagierten Expert:innen der Jazzszene, die ihrer Arbeit als Teil der Hauptjury mit großem Engagement nachkommen.

»It is an honour to be a member of the jury for the German Jazz Prize, there are so many deserving artists and it gives me great satisfaction to be able to help support the German and international jazz scene«

Kurt Rosenwinkel, Multiinstrumentalist, Komponist, Produzent, und Mitglied der Hauptjury.

Gemeinsam begutachten die Hauptjurymitglieder in intensiven Sitzungen die Einreichungen der 81 Nominierten auf verschiedene Kriterien, wie ihre künstlerische Qualität und Innovation. Beate Sampson, Moderatorin beim Bayerischen Rundfunk und Vorsitzende der Hauptjury dazu:

»Die kreative Kraft der internationalen Jazzszene ist ungebrochen, obwohl sich die Pandemiejahre dramatisch auf die Arbeitsbedingungen der Musiker:innen und Komponist:innen auswirken, und nun auch der völkerrechtswidrige Angriffskrieg in der Ukraine dunkle Schatten wirft. Die Jury des Deutschen Jazzpreises ist tief beeindruckt von der hohen Qualität, der künstlerischen Aussagekraft und der emotionalen Tiefe der eingereichten Werke und Produktionen, und hat sich mit großem Respekt davor in die Diskussion gestürzt – wohlwissend, dass viel mehr, als wir prämieren können, preiswürdig ist.«

Aber auch gesellschaftliche Faktoren sind neben herausragenden musikalischen Leistungen der Preisträger:innen relevante Kriterien für die Auszeichnung mit dem Deutschen Jazzpreis, wie Jurymitglied und Musikjournalistin Aida Baghernejad festhält:

»Jazz ist angewandte Politik, von seinen Anfängen bis zu seinen kontemporären Spielarten auf der ganzen Welt. Und als Popkulturjournalistin ist es mir wichtig, diese Seite des Jazz hervorzuheben und Künstler:innen zu fördern, die Brücken aus der Jazzszene hinaus in die Gesellschaft und in Hiphop, Pop und elektronische Musik schlagen.«

Der Ticketvorverkauf für die Preisverleihung mit Konzertabend startet am 15. März. Alle weiteren Informationen zum Ticketverkauf, zu den Kategorien und zur Bewerbung finden Sie auf deutscher-jazzpreis.de.

Jetzt Tickets für die Preisverleihung sichern!