Radio
Credits Geert Vandepoele
1 / 1
11. April 2024

Alexander von Schlippenbach Honoured for Lifetime Achievement

On April 18, the German Jazz Prize will be presented at the E-Werk Cologne, honoring outstanding musicians and achievements in the field of jazz, both nationally and internationally, for the fourth time. A first award winner in the category Lifetime Achievement was announced in advance at the opening of jazzahead!, the world’s largest trade fair for jazz. In the fourth edition, the Berlin based jazz pianist, arranger, and composer Alexander von Schlippenbach is honored for his life‘s work.
 
Alexander von Schlippenbach, a free jazz pioneer and a legend in the German jazz scene, is a key figure in music that embodies freedom. Schlippenbach’s work skillfully navigates between rigorous individualism and unrestricted collective spirit, between intellectual architecture and unconditional devotion to the process of playing. His contributions range from solo performances to duos with Aki Takase and larger ensembles, always blending individualism with collective spirit. His ability to express inner sonic visions both at the piano and in an orchestral setting demonstrates his remarkable versatility and deep musical understanding.
 
Schlippenbach has significantly shaped the identity of jazz and improvisation, not only in Germany but also internationally. This is reflected in his decades-long collaboration with jazz institutions such as the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) or the Globe Unity Orchestra, among others. The latter, founded by Schlippenbach in 1966 to perform the work “Globe Unity” commissioned by the Berliner Jazztage, notably influenced his reach and development as a musician.

Radio
Credits Geert Vandepoele
1 / 1
11. April 2024

Alexander von Schlippenbach für Lebenswerk geehrt

Am 18. April ist es so weit: Der Deutsche Jazzpreis wird im Kölner E-Werk verliehen, um zum vierten Mal herausragende Musiker:innen und Kulturschaffende im Bereich Jazz sowohl national als auch international zu würdigen. Ein erster Preisträger – in der Kategorie Lebenswerk – wurde bereits vorweg bei der Eröffnung der jazzahead!, der weltweit größten Fachmesse für Jazz, bekanntgegeben. In der vierten Edition wird der Berliner Jazzpianist, freischaffende Arrangeur und Komponist Alexander von Schlippenbach für sein Lebenswerk ausgezeichnet. 

Alexander von Schlippenbach, Free Jazz-Pionier und eine Legende in der deutschen Jazzszene, ist eine Schlüsselfigur in der Musik, die Freiheit verkörpert. Schlippenbachs Werk bewegt sich dabei gekonnt zwischen rigorosem Individualismus und uneingeschränktem kollektivem Geist, zwischen intellektueller Architektur und bedingungsloser Hingabe an den Spielprozess. Sein Wirken reicht von Solos über Duos mit Aki Takase bis hin zu größeren Formationen, wobei er stets Individualismus und kollektiven Geist vereint. Seine Fähigkeit, sowohl am Klavier als auch im Orchester innere Klangvorstellungen auszudrücken, zeigt seine bemerkenswerte Vielseitigkeit und sein tiefes musikalisches Verständnis.

Schlippenbach hat die Identität des Jazz und der Improvisation nachhaltig mitgestaltet, nicht nur in  Deutschland, sondern auch international. Dies zeigt sich nicht zuletzt in seiner jahrzehntelangen Zusammenarbeit mit Jazz-Institutionen wie der Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) oder dem Globe Unity Orchestra. Letzteres, 1966 von Schlippenbach ins Leben gerufen, um das von den Berliner Jazztagen beauftragte Werk „Globe Unity“ zu performen, beeinflusste seine Reichweite und seine Entwicklung als Musiker nachhaltig.