Radio
Radio
Sebastian Gramms & Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky
1 / 1
25. April 2022

German Lifetime Achievement Award and Special Jury Prize

The award ceremony of the German Jazz Prize 2022 in Bremen’s Metropol Theater is drawing ever closer, 81 nominees have a chance to receive one of the coveted prizes in a total of 31 categories. The award winners for the national and international jazz scene in Germany, who will each be endowed with 10,000 euros, will remain top secret until the awards evening on 27 April 2022 – with two special exceptions that were already announced exclusively at today’s press conference.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The saxophonist, composer and author Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky is honoured for his outstanding work with the German Jazz Prize for Lifetime Achievement. “Ernst-Ludwig “Luten” Petrowsky began his career as a jazz musician in 1957 as a member of Eberhard Weise’s orchestra. Since then, he has set milestones in the international jazz scene like no one else from the GDR. When people often talk about so-called GDR free jazz, it is unthinkable without him,” explains Berlin journalist and member of the main jury Ulf Drechsel. “An essential core of his musical activities since 1982 was also the work with his spouse, the singer Uschi Brüning. Together, the duo explored with much dedication, imagination and humour the tonal possibilities in the area of tension between classical jazz songs and free improvisation and shaped many musical projects as special guests – from big band to blues band. His playing on the saxophone – sometimes restrained and tender, sometimes expressive and shrill – remains indelibly rooted in the jazz canon of the last six decades. A life’s work!”

Special prize of the jury

The special jury prize for Sebastian Gramss’ HARD BOILED WONDERLAND with the album Music Resistance was also announced in advance. The international collective was only founded in 2020 under the direction of double bassist and composer Sebastian Gramss. With their Music Resistance programme, the musicians of different ages and nationalities want to provide musical answers to current political, social, and ecological questions. “It is not only great but absolutely necessary that artists dedicate themselves to political issues. Always and especially now. HARD BOILED WONDERLAND does this with such terrific conviction, dedication and visibly unsparing courage and commitment that this prize is a logical consequence of their work. I sincerely hope that we can inspire many cultural workers to get politically involved. This is what our world needs in order to become a better place, bit by bit,” says singer, songwriter and deputy spokesman for the main jury of the German Jazz Prize, Max Mutzke, explaining the decision.

The German Jazz Prize, awarded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, can be witnessed live on site or via livestream on 27 April from 18:00. The award ceremony and the subsequent concert evening will take place on the eve of jazzahead! – the world’s largest jazz fair with international participants from over 60 countries.

Radio Bremen will broadcast the award ceremony live on bremenzwei.de, radiobremen.de and the Bremen Zwei Facebook page. Other public cultural broadcasters such as SWR2, SR2, rbbKultur and BR-Klassik will cover the livestream via their websites or Facebook pages. The livestream will also be available on the Jazz in the City website – as part of a cooperation with FUNKE Medien Gruppe Thüringen. The subsequent concert evening of the German Jazz Prize will also be recorded by Radio Bremen. It will be broadcast on 21 May 2022 from approx. 22:15 on 3sat. The broadcast will take place on the programme Bremen Zwei on 14 May 2022 from 22:00. The concert evening will also be available in the 3sat media library.

Radio
Radio
Sebastian Gramms & Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky
1 / 1
25. April 2022

Auszeichnungen Lebenswerk und Sonderpreis der Jury

Die große Verleihung des Deutschen Jazzpreises 2022 im Bremer Metropol Theater rückt immer näher und damit auch die Aussicht für die 81 Nominierten auf einen der begehrten Preise in insgesamt 31 Kategorien. Wer sich über die mit je 10.000 Euro dotierten Auszeichnungen für die nationale und internationale Jazzszene in Deutschland freuen darf, bleibt jedoch bis zum Verleihungsabend am 27. April 2022 streng unter Verschluss – bis auf zwei besondere Ausnahmen, die bereits im Rahmen des heutigen Pressegesprächs exklusiv verkündet wurden. 

Preis für das Lebenswerk 

Der Saxophonist, Komponist und Autor Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky wirdfür sein herausragendes Wirken mit dem Deutschen Jazzpreis für das Lebenswerk geehrt. »1957 begann Ernst-Ludwig „Luten“ Petrowsky als Mitglied des Orchesters von Eberhard Weise seine Karriere als Jazzmusiker. Seither hat er wie niemand sonst aus der DDR Marksteine in der internationalen Jazzszene gesetzt. Wenn oft vom sogenannten DDR-Free-Jazz gesprochen wird, ist dieser ohne ihn nicht denkbar«, erklärt der Berliner Journalist und Mitglied der Hauptjury Ulf Drechsel. »Wesentliches Kernstück seiner musikalischen Aktivitäten war seit 1982 auch die Arbeit mit seiner Ehepartnerin, der Sängerin Uschi Brüning. Gemeinsam lotete das Duo mit viel Hingabe, Fantasie und Humor die klanglichen Möglichkeiten im Spanungsfeld zwischen klassischen Jazz-Songs und freier Improvisation aus und prägten als Special Guests viele musikalische Projekte – von Big Band bis Bluesband. Sein Spiel auf dem Saxophon – mal verhalten-zärtlich, mal expressiv-schrill – bleibt unauslöschlich verwurzelt im Jazz-Kanon der letzten sechs Jahrzehnte. Ein Lebenswerk!«  

Sonderpreis der Jury 

Schon vorab verkündet wurde außerdem der Sonderpreis der Jury, den Sebastian Gramss‘ HARD BOILED WONDERLAND mit dem Album Music Resistance erhält. Erst 2020 formierte sich das internationale Kollektiv unter der Federführung des Kontrabassisten und Komponisten Sebastian Gramss. Die Musiker:innen verschiedenen Alters und unterschiedlichster Nationalitäten wollen mit ihrem Programm Music Resistance musikalisch Antworten auf aktuelle politische, soziale und ökologische Fragen geben. »Es ist nicht nur toll, sondern absolut notwendig, dass sich Künstler:innen politischen Themen widmen. Schon immer und gerade jetzt. HARD BOILED WONDERLAND tut das mit so einer grandiosen Überzeugung, Hingabe und einem sichtlich schonungslosen Mut und Aufwand, dass dieser Preis eine logische Konsequenz ihres Schaffens ist. Ich hoffe sehr, dass wir damit viele Kulturschaffende inspirieren können, sich politisch zu engagieren. Das braucht unsere Welt, um Stück für Stück ein besserer Ort zu werden!«, begründet der Sänger, Songwriter und stellvertretende Sprecher der Hauptjury des Deutschen Jazzpreises, Max Mutzke, die Entscheidung.  

Der von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien ausgelobte Deutsche Jazzpreis kann am 27. April ab 18:00 Uhr live vor Ort oder hier im Livestream erlebt werden. Die große Preisverleihung und der anschließende Konzertabend finden am Vorabend der jazzahead! statt – der weltgrößten Jazz-Fachmesse mit internationalen Teilnehmer:innen aus über 60 Ländern.